主頁   資料庫  香港  香港稅務  利得稅  香港政府擬寬減2018/19課稅年度利得稅 

資料庫

分享

香港政府擬寬減2018/19課稅年度利得稅

香港政府擬寬減2018/19課稅年度利得稅

在2019年2月27日發布的2019/2020財政預算案中, 香港財政司司長陳茂波提議寬減2018/19課稅年度利得稅, 寬減幅度75%,每宗個案寬減額上限為20,000港元。

此次利得稅寬減措施針對的是2018/19課稅年度的利得稅,即結賬日期是於2018年4月1日至2019年3月31日期間的公司於2018/19課稅年度可獲得利得稅寬減優惠,納稅人只須如常填報報稅表,無須特別就建議的寬減措施提出申請。雖然該項提議須經立法會審議通過後才能生效,但根據過往的經驗一般均會獲得通過。

1. 香港的稅務制度

香港采用地域來源原則征稅,即只有源自香港的利潤才須在香港課稅,而源自其他地方的利潤則不須在香港繳納利得稅,該稅務制度非常簡單清晰明確,且稅率偏低。

香港稅務局向在香港本地經營任何行業丶專業或業務所得的利潤征稅。即只有於香港產生或得自香港的利潤,才須予以征收利得稅。簡而言之,任何人在香港營商,但其利潤是從香港以外的地方所獲得,則不須在香港就有關利潤繳稅。

2. 香港利得稅的征稅範圍

根據香港《稅務條例》,符合下述條件的任何人士,均須繳納香港利得稅:
(1) 在香港經營任何行業丶專業或業務;
(2) 從該行業丶專業或業務獲得利潤;以及
(3) 有關利潤於香港產生或得自香港。

任何人士,包括法團丶合夥業務丶受托人或團體,在香港經營行業丶專業或業務而從該行業丶專業或業務獲得於香港產生或得自香港的應評稅利潤(售賣資本資產所得的利潤除外),均須納稅。征稅對象並無居港人士或非居港人士的分別。因此,居港人士得自海外的利潤可毋須在香港納稅;反過來說,非居港人士如賺取於香港產生的利潤,則須納稅。至於業務是否在香港經營及利潤是否得自香港的問題,主要是根據事實而定。於海外產生的利潤,即使將有關款項匯回香港公司銀行戶口,亦毋須納稅。

3. 香港的利得稅兩級制稅率

香港政府為了提升國際竟爭力及促進經濟發展,在維持原有一般法團適用的稅率16.5%及法團以外的業務適用的標準稅率15%的基礎上,自2018年4月1日開始實行利得稅兩級制。香港法團首200萬港元的應評稅利潤之利得稅稅率將降至8.25%,其余的應評稅利潤則繼續按16.5%征稅。至於獨資或合夥業務的非法團業務,兩級制利得稅稅率相應為7.5%及15%。

簡單來說,香港利得稅的稅率大致分為三種,其一是適用於法團的稅率16.5%,其二是適用於法團以外業務的標準稅率15%,其三是在符合規定條件下適用的兩級制稅率。具體請參閱以下香港利得稅稅率表:

表1:適用於香港法團的利得稅稅率
稅率種類
課稅年度 稅率
法團稅率
2008/09及其後
16.5%
兩級制稅率
2018/19及其後
應評稅利潤不超過HK$2,000,000 8.25%
應評稅利潤超過HK$2,000,000的部分 16.5%

表2:適用於香港法團以外的業務的利得稅稅率

稅率種類
課稅年度
稅率
標準稅率
2008/09 及其後
15%
兩級制稅率 2018/19 及其後
應評稅利潤不超過HK$2,000,000
7.5%
應評稅利潤超過HK$2,000,000的部分
15%

2018/19年度成為香港第一個適用利得稅兩級制稅率的課稅年度,香港稅務局已於2019年4月的第一個星期向業務活躍的法團和合夥業務發出2018/19課稅年度的利得稅報稅表,凡收到報稅表的納稅人應在指定限期前就本法團或合夥業務的經營情況完成填報利得稅報稅表及繳納相應的利得稅款。如果納稅人沒有收到利得稅報稅表,但業務開始或重新開始賺取應評稅利潤(未扣減承前虧損),公司須於有關課稅年度的評稅基期(會計基期)結束後四個月內書面通知稅務局。

由於納稅人的會計基期不同,在報稅表中申報的評稅基期也將會有所不同,例如啟源會計師事務所的年結日為3月31日,即本所於2018/19課稅年度利得稅報稅表中申報的評稅基期為2018年4月1日至2019年3月31日,如本所符合有關條件,即可適用利得稅兩級制稅率。

4. 香港歷年來實行的利得稅寬減措施

香港特區政府為了促進經濟發展,支持中小企業以及推行“藏富於民”的治港理念,在每年財政預算中都會根據當年的財政盈余建議撥出一部份用於企業及個人的稅收寬減支出, 該等寬減措施也都獲得了立法會的通過。本所羅列了香港特區政府近六年來針對利得稅推出的有關寬減措施,供本所客戶及潛在客戶參閱使用。

表3:香港稅務局近年來實行的利得稅寬減措施(自2013/14課稅年度起):
課稅年度
利得稅寬減措施
2018/19
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以20,000港元為上限
2017/18
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以30,000港元為上限
2016/17
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以20,000港元為上限
2015/16
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以20,000港元為上限
2014/15
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以20,000港元為上限
2013/14
利得稅稅款的75%可獲寬減,每宗個案以20,000港元為上限

5. 香港利得稅的計算實例

【例1】某法團2018/2019課稅年度的應評稅利潤為300,000港元,假設該法團符合規定條件適用利得稅兩級制稅率,應評稅利潤亦未超過2,000,000港元,則直接以8.25 %稅率課稅,利得稅應為24,750港元。若在2018/19年度利得稅可獲75%寬減的情況下,利得稅24,750港元的75%(18,563港元)與寬減上限20,000港元兩者相比,寬減額以其較低者為準,寬減18,563港元後的利得稅為6,187港元,計算如下:

香港利得稅的計算

【例2】某法團2018/2019課稅年度的應評稅利潤為2,600,000港元,假設該法團符合規定條件適用利得稅兩級制稅率,應評稅利潤的首2,000,000港元會以8.25%稅率課稅,余額600,000港元會以16.5%稅率課稅,利得稅應為264,000港元。若在2018/19課稅年度利得稅可獲75%寬減的情況下,利得稅264,000港元的75%(198,000港元)與寬減上限20,000港元兩者相比,寬減額以其較低者為準,寬減20,000港元後的利得稅為244,000港元,計算如下:

香港利得稅的計算

【例3】某合夥業務2018/2019課稅年度的應評稅利潤為300,000港元,假設該合夥業務符合規定條件適用利得稅兩級制稅率,應評稅利潤亦未超過 2,000,000港元,則直接以7.5%稅率課稅,利得稅應為22,500港元。若在2018/19年度利得稅可獲75%寬減的情況下,利得稅22,500港元的75%(16,875港元)與寬減上限20,000港元兩者相比,寬減額以其較低者為準,寬減16,875港元後的利得稅為5,625港元,計算如下:

香港利得稅的計算

【例4】某合夥業務2018/2019課稅年度的應評稅利潤為2,600,000港元,假設該合夥業務符合規定條件適用利得稅兩級制稅率,應評稅利潤的首 2,000,000港元會以7.5 %稅率課稅,余額 600,000港元會以15%標準稅率課稅,利得稅應為240,000港元。若在2018/19課稅年度利得稅可獲75%寬減的情況下,利得稅240,000港元的75%(180,000港元)與寬減上限20,000港元兩者相比,寬減額以其較低者為準,寬減20,000港元後的利得稅為220,000港元,計算如下:

香港利得稅的計算

6. 香港離岸經營所得的利得稅免稅申請

由於香港采用地域來源原則征稅,僅就源自於香港的利潤課稅,而源自香港境外的利潤則無須在香港繳納利得稅。簡單來說,非香港本地經營即離岸經營時所獲得的利潤均無須繳納香港利得稅,即是離岸經營免稅。

該稅務制度下,香港境外企業或非香港居民采取在香港註冊成立公司,並以離岸經營方式進行合法的國際性貿易及商業活動,可從而利用香港世界金融中心和國際自由貿易港及降低稅負的多重優勢。

一直以來,香港稅務條例都允許本地香港公司就離岸經營所得申請免稅,任何人士亦可根據《稅務條例》所列出的規定,向稅務局局長提出事先裁定申請。香港稅務局會謹慎嚴格地審查離岸經營免稅申請,以防止偷漏稅,本所建議應由具備豐富經驗之專業稅務師進行稅務籌劃及提供專業意見,以避免稅務風險, 並實現降低企業經營稅負,歡迎閣下向本所進行咨詢。

關於香港離岸經營所得的利得稅免稅申請,本所另有詳細專文,敬請閣下參閱本所網站之說明:香港公司以離岸方式經營的稅務簡介

啟源建議您就有關資料作出行動前咨詢稅務顧問的專業意見。如您有任何問題,請隨時聯系啟源負責香港稅務之註冊稅務師:

顏漢彬 Benjamin HP Yen
稅務合夥人
T: +852 2270 9768
E:benjamin.yen@kaizencpa.com

王嘉欣 Vicki Wong
稅務經理
T:+852 2270 9725
E: vicki.wong@kaizencpa.com


如果您需要進一步的資訊或協助,煩請您瀏覽本所的官方網站 www.kaizencpa.com  或通過下列方式與本所聯系:
電郵: info@kaizencpa.com
電話: +852 2341 1444
手提電話:+852 5616 4140, +86 152 1943 4614
WhatsApp, Line 和微信: +852 5616 4140
Skype: kaizencpa

下載: 香港政府擬寬減2018/19課稅年度利得稅 [PDF]

語言選擇

English

日本語

简体中文

關閉

Home   Knowledge  Hong Kong Business  Hong Kong Taxation  Profits Tax  The HKSAR Government Proposes to Reduce the Profits Tax for the Year of Assessment 2018/19 

KNOWLEDGE

SHARE

The HKSAR Government Proposes to Reduce the Profits Tax for the Year of Assessment 2018/19

【Font:L M S

The HKSAR Government Proposes to Reduce the Profits Tax for the Year of Assessment 2018/19

On 27 February 2019, the Financial Secretary of Hong Kong, Mr. Paul Chan, delivered 2019/2020 Budget. He proposed a one-off reduction of profits tax for the year of assessment 2018/19 by 75%, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case.

This concessionary measure is applicable for the profits tax for the year of assessment 2018/19, that is, for the accounting period from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019. No additional application for this proposed concessionary measure is required. Taxpayers should file their profits tax returns as usual. Although this proposed concessionary measure is subject to review and approval by the Legislative Council of Hong Kong, it will generally be adopted based on experience.

1. Hong Kong's Tax System

Hong Kong adopts a territorial source principle of taxation. Only profits arise in or are derived from Hong Kong are taxable here. Profits sourced elsewhere are not subject to Hong Kong Profits Tax. The system itself is very clear and simple, and the tax rates are relatively low.

The Inland Revenue Department (“IRD”) charges tax on profits which arise in or are derived from a trade, profession, or business carried on in Hong Kong. Profits Tax is only charged on profits which arise in or are derived from Hong Kong. In simple terms this means that a Hong Kong company which derives profits from another place outside Hong Kong is not required to pay tax in Hong Kong on those profits.

2. Scope of Charge of Profits Tax in Hong Kong

Under the Inland Revenue Ordinance, a person is chargeable to Profits Tax under the following conditions -
1)   he carries on a trade, profession or business in Hong Kong;
2)   the trade, profession or business derives profits; and
3)   the profits arise in or are derived from Hong Kong.

Persons, including corporations, partnerships, trustees and bodies of persons carrying on any trade, profession or business in Hong Kong are chargeable to tax on all profits (excluding profits arising from the sale of capital assets) arising in or derived from Hong Kong from such trade, profession or business. There is therefore no distinction made between residents and non-residents. A resident may therefore derive profits from abroad without suffering tax; conversely, a non-resident may suffer tax on profits arising in Hong Kong. The question of whether a business is carried on in Hong Kong and whether profits are derived from Hong Kong is largely one of fact. No tax is levied on profits arising abroad, even if they are remitted to Hong Kong.

3. Hong Kong's Two-tiered Profits Tax Rates Regime

In order to enhance the international competitivity and promote economic development, the HKSAR Government implements the two-tiered profits tax rates regime in which based on maintenance of original profits tax rate for the corporations at 16.5% and profits tax rate for the unincorporated businesses (i.e. partnerships and sole proprietorships) at 15%. The two-tiered profits tax rates regime will be applicable to any year of assessment commencing on or after 1 April 2018. Under the two-tiered profits tax rates regime, the profits tax rate for the first HK$2 million of assessable profits will be lowered to 8.25% for corporations and 7.5% for unincorporated businesses. Assessable profits above HK$2 million will continue to be subject to the tax rate of 16.5% for corporations and standard rate of 15% for unincorporated businesses.  

In simple terms, this means that Hong Kong profits tax rates can be classified into 3 main categories: one is applicable to corporations at 16.5%, another one is applicable to unincorporated businesses at 15% and the last one is applicable to the taxpaying entities which qualify for the two-tiered profits tax rates.

For details, please refer to the Hong Kong profits tax rate table as below.

Table 1: Profits tax rates applicable to corporations
Types of Tax Rates
Year of Assessment
Tax Rate
Corporation rate
2008/09 onwards
16.5%
Two-tiered rates
2018/19 onwards
Assessable profits up to HK$2,000,000
8.25%
Any part of assessable profits over HK$2,000,000
16.5%

Table 2: Profits tax rates applicable to unincorporated businesses

Types of Tax Rates
Year of Assessment
Tax Rate
Standard rate
2008/09 onwards
15%
Two-tiered rates
2018/19 onwards
Assessable profits up to HK$2,000,000
7.5%
Any part of assessable profits over HK$2,000,000
15%

Year 2018/19 becomes the first year of assessment to implement the two-tiered profits tax rates. IRD has been issued the profits tax returns for 2018/19 in bulk to corporations and partnership businesses of which fall within the “active” category in the Department on the first week of April 2019. In respect to the operating statuses of corporations and partnership businesses, taxpayers who receive tax returns should complete the filing of profits tax returns and settle corresponding profits taxes by the specified due date. If taxpayers do not receive profits tax returns, but the company commences or recommences to earn assessable profits (before the set-off of any loss brought forward), then the company must inform the IRD in writing within 4 months after the end of basis period (the accounting period) for that year of assessment.

In view of various accounting periods adopted by taxpayers, basis periods reported in the tax returns will be different accordingly. For instance, the year ended date of Kaizen CPA Limited is 31 March during the relevant year, then the basis period of our Company for the year of assessment 2018/19 is covered from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019. If our Company satisfies the relevant conditions, then two-tiered profits tax rates can be applicable to our Company.

4. Hong Kong's Tax Reduction Measures Implemented Over Years

In order to promote economic development, support small and medium enterprises and implement Hong Kong governing philosophy of leaving wealth with the people, the HKSAR Government proposes to reserve part of fiscal surplus annually in annual fiscal budget for the expenditure on tax reduction measures. These concessionary measures obtained the passage by the Legislative Council in the past years. Our Company list out the profits tax reduction implemented by the IRD over recent six years as below, as for our current and potential customers’ reference uses.

Table 3: Tax reduction implemented by IRD over recent years (year of assessment 2013/14 onwards)
Year of Assessment
Tax Reduction
2018/19
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case (Legislative amendments are required for implementing the proposed measures)
2017/18
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$30,000 per case
2016/17
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case
2015/16
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case
2014/15
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case
2013/14
75% of profits tax is waived, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000 per case

5. Illustrative Examples of the Computation of Hong Kong Profits Tax

Example 1

Corporation A has assessable profits HK$300,000 for the year of assessment 2018/19. Assuming that the corporation fulfills the conditions applying the two-tiered profits tax rates regime and its assessable profit is below HK$2,000,000, its assessable profits should be charged at 8.25% and its profits tax should be calculated as HK$24,750. Under the tax reduction measures for the year of assessment 2018/19, tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2018/19 (i.e. HK$24,750 x 75% = HK$18,563) can be obtained, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000. Therefore, its final tax for 2018/19 should be HK$6,187, which should be calculated as follows:

the Computation of Hong Kong Profits Tax

Example 2

Corporation B has assessable profits HK$2,600,000 for the year of assessment 2018/19. Assuming that the corporation fulfills the conditions applying the two-tiered profits tax rates regime, assessable profits of first HK$2,000,000 should be charged at 8.25% and the remainder of HK$600,000 should be charged at 16.5%, and its profits tax should be calculated as HK$264,000. Under the tax reduction measures for the year of assessment 2018/19, tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2018/19 (i.e. HK$264,000 x 75% = HK$198,000) can be obtained, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000. Therefore, its final tax for 2018/19 should be HK$244,000, which should be calculated as follows:

the Computation of Hong Kong Profits Tax

Example 3

Partnership C has assessable profits HK$300,000 for the year of assessment 2018/19. Assuming that the partnership fulfills the conditions applying the two-tiered profits tax rates regime and its assessable profit is below HK$2,000,000, its assessable profits should be charged at 7.5% and its profits tax should be calculated as HK$22,500. Under the tax reduction measures for the year of assessment 2018/19, tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2018/19 (i.e. HK$22,500 x 75% = HK$16,875) can be obtained, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000. Therefore, its final tax for 2018/19 should be HK$5,625, which should be calculated as follows:

the Computation of Hong Kong Profits Tax

Example 4

Partnership D has assessable profits HK$2,600,000 for the year of assessment 2018/19. Assuming that the partnership fulfills the conditions applying the two-tiered profits tax rates regime, assessable profits of first HK$2,000,000 should be charged at 7.5% and the remainder of HK$600,000 should be charged at 15%, and its profits tax should be calculated as HK$240,000. Under the tax reduction measures for the year of assessment 2018/19, tax reduction of 75% of the profits tax payable for 2018/19 (i.e. HK$240,000 x 75% = HK$180,000) can be obtained, subject to a ceiling of HK$20,000. Therefore, its final tax for 2018/19 should be HK$220,000, which should be calculated as follows:

the Computation of Hong Kong Profits Tax

6. Application for the Exemption of Profits Tax Derived from Offshore Profits

Application for the Exemption of Profits Tax Derived from Offshore ProfitsHong Kong adopts a territorial source principle of taxation. Only profits which arise in or are derived from Hong Kong are taxable here. Profits sourced elsewhere are not subject to Hong Kong Profits Tax. In simple terms this means that a person who carries on a business in Hong Kong but derives profits from another place is not required to pay tax in Hong Kong on those profits.

Under current tax system, when overseas companies or non-Hong Kong residents register companies in Hong Kong, they can proceed legal international trading and commercial activities with multiple advantages of Hong Kong, which include worldwide financial center, international free trade port and low tax burden.

All along, Hong Kong Inland Revenue Ordinance allows local Hong Kong companies to apply profits tax exemption for their offshore income. Further, taxpayers may apply to the Commissioner of the IRD for advance rulings, subject to provision of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. The IRD would review the application for the exemption of Hong Kong profits tax on offshore profits in a prudent and strict way in order to prevent any tax evasion. In order to avoid any risk on taxation issues and reduce the tax burden of enterprises, we suggest your Company to have a tax planning and obtain professional opinions from experienced professional tax advisors. You are always welcome to get a consultation with us.

In regard to the exemption of Hong Kong profits tax on offshore profits, our Company prepared a more detailed article for your perusal. Please visit our official website for further information:

Introduction on Taxation of Hong Kong Companies Operating Offshore

Kaizen suggests you consult the professional advice of tax advisors before taking actions. Should you have any questions in relation to the proposals, please feel free to contact our CTAs in Hong Kong.

Benjamin HP Yen
Tax Partner
T: +852 2270 9768
E:benjamin.yen@kaizencpa.com

Vicki Wong
Tax Manager
T: +852 2270 9725
E: vicki.wong@kaizencpa.com

If you wish to obtain more information or assistance, please visit the official website of Kaizen CPA Limited at www.kaizencpa.com or contact us through the following and talk to our professionals:
Email: info@kaizencpa.com, enquiries@kaizencpa.com
Tel: +852 2341 1444
WhatsApp/Line/Wechat: +852 6114 9414, +86 152 1943 4614
Skype: kaizencpa

Download: The HKSAR Government Proposes to Reduce the Profits Tax for the Year of Assessment 2018/19 [PDF]